Didcot Concert Orchestra

Symphonic Seascapes
The Prelude to Wagner’s opera Parsifal demonstrates the composer’s gift for melody and rich harmony. We then give the first performance of a work by Ukrainian composer Anna Kuzina-Rozhdestvenska. Wonderfully depictive orchestration is exemplified by the rarely-heard seascape A Legend of the Skerries by Swedish composer Hugo Alfvén, and by Arnold Bax’s vivid depiction of the Cornwall coast near Tintagel. Highlights from Tchaikovsky’s immortal ballet Sleeping Beauty abound with tunes you’ll go home humming.

didcot concert orchestra big photo

didcot concert orchestra small phot
  • Date: October 2, 2022
  • Start: 4:00 pm
  • Venue: Cornerstone Arts Centre, 25 Station Road, Didcot OX11 7NE

Wagner – Parsifal: Prelude
Anna Kuzina-Rozhdestvenska – Breath of Life (version for small orchestra)
Alfvén – A Legend of the Skerries
Bax – Tintagel
Tchaikovsky – Sleeping Beauty: ballet highlights